## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

April 5, 2022

The Honorable Catherine Szpindor Chief Administrative Officer U.S. House of Representatives 632 Ford House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chief Administrative Officer Szpindor,

We would like to bring to your attention an urgent matter regarding a vendor used by every member of the House of Representatives—Citigroup, Inc (Citi). As you know, Citi is the financial institution responsible for managing all credit cards for House offices. Members of Congress use the supplied Citi credit cards to pay for flights, supplies, and other goods.

Unfortunately, Citi sent a letter to its stakeholders in anticipation of its April 2022 stakeholder meeting stating that the company will "provide travel benefits to facilitate access to adequate [abortion] resources." These travel benefits are a response to laws that protect unborn children in the womb by setting gestational age limits for when a woman can procure an elective abortion. By choosing to underwrite travel to abortions for its employees, Citi has explicitly staked out its position to advance the liberal agenda of abortion on demand and has shown no regard for whether a particular state's laws are in place to protect the safety of a woman and her child.

This is an unfortunate move by Citi that will lead to the circumvention of state laws and unfettered access to elective abortions. It has long been the policy of our legislative branch of government that taxpayer dollars not be used to fund abortion. By offering to pay its employees in their efforts to terminate the lives of the unborn, Citi has forfeited its privilege of doing business with the House of Representatives. That is why we implore you to immediately terminate the House's existing contracts with Citigroup, Inc. and refrain from entering into any new contractual agreements with the company. We look forward to hearing from you about this urgent matter.

Sincerely,

Mike Johnson

Member of Congress

Rodney Davis
Member of Congress

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/0000831001/000120677422000697/citi3969751-def14a.htm

Tod Budd

Ted Budd

Member of Congress

Doug Lamborn Member of Congress

Andy Biggs

Member of Congress

David B. McKinley, P.E. Member of Congress

Lauren Boebert

Member of Congress

Glenn Grothman

Member of Congress

Vicky Hartzler

Member of Congress

Brian Babin, D.D.S. Member of Congress

Bill Johnson

Member of Congress

John H. Rutherford

Member of Congress

Kat Cammack Member of Congress Eric A. "Rick" Crawford Member of Congress

Mary E. Miller
Member of Congress

*-201* -

Michael Waltz Member of Congress

Lisa C. McClain
Member of Congress

Ralph Norman
Member of Congress

Lance Gooden
Member of Congress

John R. Moolenaar Member of Congress

Daniel Webster
Member of Congress

Virginia Foxx Representative Steven M. Palazzo Member of Congress

Debbie Lesko Member of Congress

Alex X. Mooney Member of Congress

alex X Morney

Andrew S. Clyde

Member of Congress

Jodey C. Arrington Member of Congress Fred Keller

Fred Keller Member of Congress

Mike Bost

Member of Congress

Jim Jordan

Member of Congress

Christopher H. Smith Member of Congress

Andy Harris, M.D. Member of Congress Claudia Tenney Member of Congress

Planda Tenney

Member of Congress

Jack Bergman

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress Dan Bishop
Member of Congress

Jim Banks Member of Congress Randy K. Weber, Sr. Member of Congress

Pete Stauber Member of Congress

Guy Reschenthaler Member of Congress

Michael Cloud Member of Congress John Joyce Member of Congress Scott Perry

Member of Congress

Ben Cline

Member of Congress

Ben Cline

Michelle Fischbach Member of Congress