Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


July 1, 2020
Press Release

WASHINGTON – U.S. Representative Mike Johnson (LA-04) yesterday evening delivered remarks on the House floor recognizing Louisiana’s High School and Middle School Students of the Year, both of whom reside in Louisiana’s Fourth Congressional District. On June 23, the Louisiana Department of Education named Antavion Moore of Ringgold High School as the Louisiana High School Student of the Year and Zachary Cryer of Benton Middle School as the Louisiana Middle School Student of the Year.

The full text of Johnson’s remarks can be viewed below:

"Thank you, Madam Speaker.

"I rise today to recognize two exceptional students from Louisiana’s Fourth Congressional District, Zachary Cryer and Antavion Moore.

"Zach, from Benton, was recently named Louisiana’s Middle School Student of the Year. Zach has maintained a 4.0 GPA throughout his time at Benton Middle School, and he has already scored a 28 on the ACT as an eighth grader.

"Tay, from Ringgold, was named the Louisiana High School Student of the Year, and he has already earned an associate’s degree and certificate of general studies. He plans to major in biomedical engineering in college and become an orthopedic doctor.

"By being recognized as Students of the Year, Tay and Zach showed a tremendous amount of dedication, excellent character, phenomenal leadership skills, and clearly the best is yet to come for these young men.

"Louisiana’s Fourth Congressional District is home to some of the brightest and most hardworking students in the nation, just like Zach and Antavion, and I am proud to represent them here in Congress.

"Once again, congratulations, guys. The best is yet to come.“