Press Releases

Speaker Johnson Announces Winners of the Congressional App Challenge

WASHINGTON — Speaker Mike Johnson (R-LA) today announced the winners of the 2023 Congressional App Challenge for Louisiana’s 4th Congressional District. Since 2013, the Congressional App Challenge has encouraged tens of thousands of young Americans to explore STEM, coding, and computer science, and has connected members of Congress with emerging technologies.

This year’s winners—all students from Caddo Magnet High School in Shreveport—were selected by a panel of 4 judges, comprised of professors from local universities.

AI Guard, the first-place app designed by Caddo Magnet seniors Guangjun Wang and Kelvin O’Young, serves as a plagiarism detector that identifies AI-generated content.

The annual Congressional App Challenge begins in June, and all 2024 submissions are due by November 1. To learn more, visit

First Place

App: AI Guard

Designer: Guangjun Wang, Kelvin O’Young

Second Place


Designer: Kevin Zhao

Third Place

App: Conversion Calculator

Designer: Vasu Arora

Fourth Place

App: International Problems

Designer: Titus Waller